Monday, June 6, 2011

Social Media News - Weekly Roundup

Social Media News from the Past Week

Facebook Wants to Become the Web’s Central Hub for Music & Video
  • Facebook to merge outside media with profile pages, including music, movies, TV shows, and books
  • New feature will be an app or tab on the user’s page that will display, for example, their most played songs and allow Facebook friends to listen to the songs and share’em
  • May allow users to see what their friends were watching on Netflix or listening to on Pandora just by looking at their profile page

Twitter Unveils Photo & Video Sharing
  • Twitter has finally launched its own photo and video sharing service, after years of relying on third-party services
  • Big difference will be that Twitter will now become the hub of this content since users no longer have to leave Twitter.com to view them
  • Twitter will also “surface the most popular videos and tweets” in a new section of the homepage

Online Ad Revenues Jump 23% to New Record
  • Internet advertising revenues hit $7.3 billion in the first quarter, a 23% jump from Q1 2010
  • Q1 2010 had been a first-quarter record before this year’s numbers set a new record

Twitter Follows The Tweet Button With A Follow Button
  • In addition to the “Tweet” buttons prevalent on thousands of websites today, Twitter has now made a “Follow” button
  • Simply put: the Tweet button shares information and the Follow button allows viewers to follow a Twitter account with just one-click
  • Interestingly enough, Facebook’s “Like” button can be used both to share bits of content and to follow a Facebook page

Google’s +1 Button Challenges Facebook’s Like Across the Web
  • Google to launch a +1 button that can go on websites (just like Facebook’s Like and Twitter’s Tweet/Follow buttons...)
  • Excerpt: “Google’s hoping that +1’s integration in search results will make it an attractive option to publishers, which stand to gain more traffic when their visitors start “+1ing” content. Google articulates this benefit in a blog post: ‘The next time your connections are searching, they could see your +1’s directly in their search results.’”

Shaq Announces Retirement Via Twitter
  • Shaq tweets a link to a video of himself announcing his retirement from the NBA
  • Video itself was uploaded on a startup company called Tout that lets you share 15-second videos on Twitter and Facebook

Google Launches Its Groupon Competitor Wednesday
  • Google launches Groupon competitor after attempting and failing to acquire Groupon fo $6 billion last year

Groupon Partners With Expedia For Groupon Travel
  • Groupon to launch Groupon Travel to promote travel deals
  • Internal estimates state that Groupon Travel, once established, may increase Groupon’s revenue by 40%

Groupon Files for $750 Million IPO
  • Groupon’s revenue for 2010 was $713 million, up 23x from 2009
  • Company’s first quarter revenue in 2011 is already $644 million

5 Key Shifts Happening Right Now in the World of Digital Marketing
  • Excerpt: “We’re living through the social revolution, which is every bit as significant as the industrial revolution.” - David Jones, the global CEO of Havas and Euro RSCG
  • Jones believes that marketing is becoming less about image and more about reality; social media has made it impossible to hide, and eventually the truth will come out
  • Thinks that brands that will perform best in this environment are those that give up control, such as Foot Locker’s Sneakerpedia where users share their shoe collections
  • Sees the value of marketing dollars decreasing and believes “you [can no longer] buy attention, you have to earn it”
  • Is a big believer in location and thinks we’re only scratching the surface with some 85% of searches relating to location
  • Thinks that most successful businesses and leaders in the future will be those that are socially responsible, envisioning “a world where the people that do the most good make the most money”

How to Decide Whether Your Business Needs an App [Infographic]
  • Worldwide app downloads: 8.2 billion in 2010, 17.7 billion in 2011
  • Worldwide app revenue: $5.2 billion in 2010, projected to be $15.1 billion in 2011
  • Other interesting statistics about mobile users

Reed Hastings (CEO/Founder of Netflix): We Have A “Five Year Plan” For Social Features and Facebook Integration
  • Hastings says Netflix will have to improve personalization, the user interface, and work on how to integrate social features
  • Social is a ‘five year investment path’ says Hastings in terms of product development
  • Says Netflix will have a deep integration with Facebook, but the company has to figure out what makes sense in terms of privacy

For Fun:
Facebook Relationships [INFOGRAPHICS]
  • Sections include “How Facebook affects your health and personality” and “On relationships and jealousy”

For Reference:
100 Awesome Marketing Stats, Charts, & Graphs
  • 6 chapters of information on Inbound vs. Outbound Marketing, Search Enging Optimization, Social Media, Blogging, Facebook, and Twitter
  • You can download the entire presentation as PDF file

42 comments:

  1. There are songs discussed, curses cast at the idea, and bittersweet thoughts where were lost within it. Of course were talking time. It is just about the most preferred commodities on the globe. It is smart that people would wish watches along with timepieces that are able to keep exact time. Inside early 50's, a excellent man with the name involving Max Hetzel revolutionized your technology employed to keep exact time plus the Accutron enjoy dynasty was created. Using an absolutely different means for producing watches than in fashion replica Hermes watches the past the Bulova Enjoy Company, using Mr. Hetzel, replica Ebel watches UK invented the idea to generate watches employing tuning division technology. No person had ever before done this specific before. The tuning division method ended wholesale replica Ferrari watches UK up used using good good results in clocks ahead of, but certainly not was fake Hamilton watches produced in higher cheap replica Harry Winston watches quantities. Certainly no person had ever attempted to miniaturize your components ahead of.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. An excellent information provided thanks for all the information i must say great efforts made by you.
    thanks a lot for all the information you provided.
    please visit our official website for further details-
    Packers And Movers Bangalore to hyderabad

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi – It’s good to read such interesting content. I agree with much of what is written here and I’ll be coming back.
    Thanks again for posting such great reading material!! To get more relevant information visit here
    Packers And Movers Gurgaon
    Packers And Movers In Gurgaon charges

    ReplyDelete