Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Update On My Music Life / My Songs' Stats / Getting Paid to Rap

so a month ago i set up a new music site http://lukash.bandcamp.com
where you can listen to many of my songs, including the 10 songs i've made & released in the past month. one of which i not only wrote lyrics and rapped on, but also produced for the first time. ("I Diid It")

i can get a good amount of stats from the site, including number of plays and downloads, and where i get traffic from.  it's much much better than myspace.  i'm content with the numbers so far, especially considering i've only been promoting my music on facebook (except for the two songs i uploaded on youtube, but they don't really count kuz i didn't really share them with anyone.  i just uploaded them to have it on there).  i plan on going all out with promoting myself when i have a finished project/mixtape.

top five played songs:
(in addition, "i love cali" has 176 views on youtube at the moment
while "i diid it" has 997 views)


top five downloaded songs:


to the few ppl who took the time to download my shit, thank you. and to those who didn't realize you could download off the site, now you know.  it might be worth noting that when you download songs off my site, the song will be perfectly tagged (aka correct song name/artist) and will also come with the lyrics and artwork attached.
i'm not worrying about downloads at all for now, since almost every song will be edited and polished when i finish the mixtape.  yes, almost every song on lukash.bandcamp.com is a rough mix.  so you may choose to hold off on downloading stuff until the mixtape drops, then you can get all the finalized songs in one batch.
the mixtape will (obvi) be available for free when it is done.


i plan on doing more remixes of well known songs and putting them on youtube so i get more traffic/subscribers there, seeing as how a lot of people liked the i love college remix i did.  i'll also be perform in santa barbara during this thanksgiving break with "kinga dajungo" (who i've made 2 tracks with so far), so i can finally really start spreading the music.  definitely plan on having a good collection of songs made so my friends and i can perform this coming summer.


it's all for the fun of it, writing and making music the past month has made me feel so much more productive and satisfied than i had in a long while.  the rewards are off the charts considering that making music itself is such a fun (although challenging) process, and at the end of it, you have something concrete that will always be there for you to listen to and share.  but i'd be lying if i said there's no part of me that really (really) wishes i could make some kind of living off music, that wants to see this little hobby take off.  i want to be able to perform on the side and make a little bit of cash down the line with my music "career."  i don't make music that'd be played on the radio or embraced by the mainstream anyway, so truly blowing up is not really a goal.  i'm also not naive enough to think that it's not near impossible for an asian dude from the suburbs to go places with hip hop, but one can dream.  i want to one day have a small, loyal underground fan base that fux with my music.  a career like brother ali's is the ultimate goal.  or slug from atmosphere.



on the topic of making money off music, i've actually recently started making quick cash penning rhymes after applying for the job (i had to show them songs i've made & also had to make a song for them) and being accepted as an artist at greetbeatz.  it's an interesting/innovative site started by 2 stanford graduates that allows anyone to pay to have a personalized song made for a friend.  the pay is usually $10 for a one minute song i make, and i have to at least rap 12 lines.  for longer songs, i get paid up to $45.
from the site:
what is greetbeatz?
GreetBeatz enables a totally new type of virtual gift, one that has actual value. With GreetBeatz, you can commission a talented independent artist to write and produce a highly personal, original song. You provide a few helpful suggestions to the artist, and the artist creatively weaves them into a song

i guess that officially makes me a talented independent artist : )

so yup, that's my little update on my music life.  i want to regularly update this blog again, so i'm hoping to have more posts like this every once in a while telling y'all what's going on.  according to google analytics (amazing tool for tracking stats of any website you're running. google it.), i'm getting a decent amounts of visitors still with no updates in a while, so i'm hoping to get back to the ~100 visitors a day i was getting when i was posting pictures i took of LA.

i know not many people are interested in this kind of post (at least for now / when i ain't bloweddd up yet mayyyyn), but it's mostly for me to chronicle my own progress on this blog.


lastly,
YEEEEEE
LET'S GETTT THIS MONEYY

14 comments:

  1. duuude do you, go out and get this shit. i'm proud of you and i'll keep supporting your music man. see ya in LA soon

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete